West Glacier RV Park and Cabins
4.4 (254)
350 River Bnd Dr, West Glacier, MT 59936
(406) 888-5580
glacierparkcollection.com
Claimed
Accessibility
- Wheelchair accessible entrance
Reviews
Reviews are sorted by relevance, with the most helpful and insightful feedback listed first for easy reference.
Angela Snow
7 months ago
We stayed at this campground the last week of July. It was our first trip to the area. The campground is nice and clean. It has a nice camp store with lots of things. Great playground for kids. Nice laundry facilities and bath houses. The only thing that would make it any better would be if it had mature trees for shade as the end of July was pretty hot. Our 43 ft 5th wheel was having a hard time in the hear of the day staying cool. But we were gone quite a bit doing hikes and seeing the area. Definitely recommend this place!
Gary Riemer
6 months ago
This is a great campground. It sits right at the beginning of " The-Road-to -The - Sun " . So, of course it is a high price and the campgrounds amenities is the Glacier National Park. The campground roads are all paved with gravel sites and gravel patios. The sites are pull thru with full hookups. There are 4 bathhouses, which is fantastic and unusual. The staff was very friendly, courteous and helpful with informative pertaining to the park. The campground was very clean and well maintained along with the restrooms / showers. Yes it also has cabins and the campground fills up fast.
Jaimie Bradley
8 months ago
Very nice, newer RV park. Staff were very friendly and the grounds were clean. 4 bathhouses that had 2 showers each. The water pressure was fantastic, which is hard to come by in campgrounds. The trees are very small but down the road it will be nice to have some shade. The grass is a bit rough and weedy but they appear to be working on getting it nicer. Sites were large and the tower on each site for the power and water plugins were super handy. The location is amazing, right on the park boundary and west glacier village.The one downside to this park is that the layout places the camper door side facing west into the afternoon and evening sun, so you have to run AC all day (no shade anywhere). It was upper 80s during our stay. Makes for a hot evening until the sun goes down, so we stayed inside the camper most evenings during supper and waited until after sunset to enjoy some outdoor time. Price is a little steep, but that s to be expected for the Glacier area.
Christi Foust
8 months ago
More
Wanda R
7 months ago
This is the closest RV park to the west Glacier park entrance (less than 1/2 mile). Check in staff was super nice and helpful with park info. Didn't use bath house so no comments on that. Laundry room was clean and all working washers. Price was $3.50 a load. Sites are gravel and level. Grass on all sites as well.When you turn in off Hwy 2 there is a train overpass listed at 13' 6". We are 13' 2" fifth wheel and we made it but that's a bit close for comfort. There were 40+ footer rigs in the campground so everyone fits, just a note so you're aware. We will definitely stay here again if we're headed back this way. Also, if you have an extra day go visit Whitefish.
Mike McDonough
7 months ago
It was a very nicely designed park with long, level sites, clean power and water and, of course, the location is phenomenal. Oh, and the gentleman at the check-in desk was great!But seriously, and it may seem petty to some, but... For $150 a night (OFF season, mind you) I expect my site to be well groomed and clean. The grass was overgrown and filled with weeds. There was a pretty significant trip hazard (long divot in ground, hidden by tall grass) just at the bottom of my steps. The fire pit had not been cleaned. I don't like being greeted by a dirty fire pit filled with trash. It's just plain unsat for a place of this caliber.
Quinn Thib
8 months ago
Beautiful location that was incredibly clean with adequate privacy. The cabins had all amenities there (dishes, towels, linens, silverware, toaster, etc). The location is conveniently located by the park entrance and other town stores. Staff were helpful with highlighting some park areas to visit. We ll probably return with a camper trailer as my only complaint was the cabin prices were quite steep per night.Rooms: Separate private room with queen-sized bed and fold-out couch.Nearby activities: Playground on-site.
Sheila B
5 months ago
Was not able to stay due to road closure. They charged me $322.90 any way! NOT GOING BACK THERE. I was able to cancel with the desk and was told "he would cancel the reservation. This was a cabin for 2-4 people with the reservation made the same day. I had NO cell phone service to receive a confirmation or GPS service to find a different road. So disappointed in the customer service. I wish we would NOT privatize our National Parks.
Terri Baize
8 months ago
More
Gary Brown
8 months ago
This is a nice RV park with level wide spaces. It is also within 1 mile of the entrance to glacier national park. Other than that, it doesn t have much going for it. Like 90% of every other RV park in the country all of these sites are facing the wrong way. The blistering afternoon sun beats down on the west side of your camper. It s hard to understand why every RV park in the country gets all of their spots facing the wrong way. There are no trees, no grass, no shade. If you re looking for a place just to drop your RV and go to the park, however this is a good place to start. The rates are quite reasonable compared to other national chain RV parks. It was 97� up here every day, so my review is a bit jaded as it was too hot to even step outside.
Kim Riley
8 months ago
Less than impressed with this campground. For the price I would expect it to be pristine. The sites are big and easy to get into but they make a point of warning you at check in to keep mats and rugs off "grass" areas, it would be the quickest way to get charged a $25 fee. There is no grass, just dead weeds. The only way you could enjoy the grass area is if you put down a mat. The trees are tiny so they provide no shade, so with temps in the 90's, it makes it very uncomfortable to be outside at all. It is in a great location, it has that going for it, but with taxes and fees the $180 per night cost (and that's with the Good Sam discount) is ridiculous.
joseph volk
8 months ago
Yes its right next to the park entrance. No pool or any other amenities and I understand no shade yet as the park is new and trees are young. But what was really disappointing was that the whole place was weeds. There was good space in between sites but all dead grass and weeds, Really takes away from the experience when paying upwards of $150 per day. I've seen management responses saying its been dry but they could still kill the weeds. We took a short 3-4 mile drive to the KOA. Beautiful green grass with no weeds, pool, restaurant etc. Yes a short drive to the park and $50 more per night but much nicer. Would be worth the extra $ and short drive to the park. One final note dont worry about the low bridge. Its arched so just stay towards the center of the road,
julie tucker
8 months ago
The RV Park is located right at park entrance which is very nice. However, the spots are less than desirable. The grass is not grass but rather weeds and thistle. This is not user friendly for children to play at all. There are no trees supplying shade so with the grass issue and the lack of shade you couldn't stand to be outside period. The picnic tables were so warped they were not useable either. In addition, sprinkler heads were pointing in wrong direction and our equipment was getting showered nightly with hard water. Unfortunately, I will not be back.
K Stewart
7 months ago
More
Roni LaBarbera
8 months ago
Honest review of Glacier RV CampgroundThis park is extremely rustic. The wooded campsites are nice, the bathrooms almost got this park a 2 star review-they are that bad! The redeeming qualities are the people who work at the park, and the Sunflower Restaurant attached to the park.Nearby activities: This park is so close to the west entrance of Glacier National Park, that we rode our bikes to the park, and followed the bike parh to the visitors center.Food & drinks: The Sunflower cafe had one of the best salads. It was delicious! They also have a good selection of drinks and beer.
Elizabeth Hicks
7 months ago
Nicely laid out. Close to park entrance. Flat sites with full hook-ups with 50 amp. Would definitely come again. Grass needs water, but they are installing sprinklers for next year.
Mark Drudge
7 months ago
We just got here for a 4 night stay and I'm already ready to give this place a top rating. Sites are well spaced, everything is clean and the staff is super friendly. Granted we are later in the season and rates are good but I would be happy to pay more during peak season and stay here. Super location. Have read a few complaints of lack of mature trees, site layout, etc .... But jeeesh, get over it..... this place is quite nice.
Lydia Long
7 months ago
More
Brett C
9 months ago
Awesome campground. Short drive fromGlacier entrance and easy to get to from our Allegiant flight into Kalispell City airport.By far one of the quietest campgrounds I ve ever stayed in, even on the night of July 4th. You can hear trains passing and honking due to the nearby crossing but it s not too noticeable. The bathhouses had hot water and great water pressure, and all of the staff we had run ins with were friendly. Our spot was well over large enough to fit our 40 footer and our Jeep with extra space.Walkability: Easy to walk around, also a great path just outside the campground.Noteworthy details: There s a fine for using a mat since it may damage the green space that comes with your spot.
Randall
7 months ago
More
todd fisher
9 months ago
This was our third attempt to travel over the going to the Sun road! The first year we didn't find a place to stay, the second time, we didn't have a reservation for the road pass that we didn't know we needed, so this third time was the charm.We researched quite a bit both the second time and this time that we were planning to go. We wanted the location very close to the entrance to the park, and this turned out to be about 2 miles away. "Location, location, location" made a big difference.Along with being located so close to the entrance to the park & the road we wanted to travel on, the cabins were located very close to many other amenities, including gas station, gift shop, grocery, etc.Online reservations were easy, we were able to obtain the days we wanted by booking early, checkin process was seamless, and upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised to find a very clean and well maintained unit. It was much like a tiny house, and everything was laid out so efficiently that all of our living needs were attended to. It was nicely furnished with a fairly large refrigerator, a small fllat top range, a full size dishwasher, microwave, and actually a very nice shower.It also had ceiling fans, along with two room air conditioners which were quite sufficient, and baseboard electric heating which kept us very comfortable.There was ample parking, and the area was very secure, including deadbolt locks etc.We highly recommend these, and would definitely choose these again the next time we visit the Glacier National Park area
Melody Fuhrman
8 months ago
The service by staff was great. Our site detail said bbq. There was none in the entire park. The photos are misleading. There is no green grass, the trees and bushes are dying. There are no sprinklers that ran in our entire row of sites. We were there for 4 days. Great location to the village and park entrance. Your paying for the name, not the rv park.
Elizabeth Gudd
7 months ago
Wow!!!! This is a luxury RV park. All the conveniences you could need being right outside of Glacier National Park. Things are pricey as to be expected from the location. Great views in all directions. We would stay here again and again.
Brian Doyle
a year ago
Absolutely love this place and we had a wonderful time staying there. It s relatively new and the trees are still small, but it s clean, well maintained and the staff was super friendly. You are very close to the entrance to the park and local amenities such as the golf course. So bring your sticks. The bathrooms/showers were very clean and the laundry facility had several machines to use. I d definitely stay here in the future.
Lester Dale
7 months ago
Stayed at the RV part. Had some trouble with our electrical on our RV. The manager Jon came to our spot to see if he could help, and even asked Charlie the maintenance man if he could look and see if he could also help . There was nothing that any of us could do, but out of nowhere the problem went away. My point is that these folks went out of their way and took the time to try and help. Awesome place, awesome people!!!!!Walkability: Nice walk in a nice part of Montana.Great scenery.
Christine Thompson
8 months ago
Although the location is close to the park and spot sizes are very long, we paid a Very premium price to have dead grass and warped picnic tables, they watered our motorhome and vehicle every night, which left hard water stains. Don't understand why they would water DEAD grass. I will definitely stay elsewhere if I visit Glacier again. My husband complained and they said they would fix the sprinkler, but then did nothing.
Asif
7 months ago
More
Sarah B
2 years ago
We had a wonderful stay. The laundry room was clean. The sites are level and easy to pull in and out of. This park is a good mix between families with kids and adults who want a little more quiet. The dog park is adorable. We were welcomed by very helpful staff who were able to get two sites next to each other for the other rig we were traveling with. The location to Glacier doesn t get any better, unless you are staying in the National Park.
David Pressley
2 years ago
We've stayed at a lot of RV parks and this one is the best yet. It is incredibly close to Glacier National Park. It is immaculately clean. The bath houses are distributed wonderfully so no one has to walk far to use them. The park is right next to West Glacier which is a nice little town. The spaces are huge and level. I could go on and on. It is an expensive park, but I would say well worth it for the proximity to the NP and the facilities. Also, there is no shade now, but they have planted a lot of trees so eventually every spot should be shady. This wouldn't be such an issue if we weren't here during the summer of the heat domes! All in all, this is an absolutely top notch RV park.
Nick Tucker
8 months ago
More